The Little French Bistro by Nina George

The Little French Bistro

Marianne, in her sixties, has been married to Lothar, her controlling husband for forty-one years. During a trip to Paris unable to take Lothar’s mistreatment anymore, Marianne decides to end her life only to be saved thanks to a Samaritan. The episode doesn’t win Marianne any sympathy from Lothar, who chides Marianne and leaves her alone in a hospital. So Marianne flees to the charming coast of Kerdruc in Brittany to finish what she started. However, the warm and welcoming residents in Kerdruc show Marianne a sunny side of life and help her discover herself and her true potential for the first time, changing the course of her life.

The Little French Bistro has a good theme, and it is uplifting, but the story was banal for me. I couldn’t connect with Marianne. She keeps doubting herself, and while I guess forty-one years of being controlled can do it to someone, I couldn’t comprehend why/ how she failed to recognize Lothar is the same old control freak when he came to Kerdruc begging for a second chance. Marianne is not the only one I didn’t exactly love. While all the characters except for Lothar are nice, most of them suffer in love and have lived apart from their significant other for YEARS because of silly reasons! I think through these subplots Nina George attempts to achieve a lot, but she sadly falls short because they don’t have much depth.

I haven’t read The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George yet, although it is quite popular. Hopefully, The Little Paris Bookshop is better than The Little French Bistro!

[Note: I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. Click here for more information about The Little French Bistro or the author biography]

2 comments

  1. I did not know that Nina George had another book out until I saw it on the shelves yesterday. Now I am reading about your review. I read The Little Paris Bookshop which I found entertaining. Anything to do with the power of books to influence people’s lives always appeals, but overall, I thought the book was surrounded by too much hype, and did not live up to its expectations. But maybe you will let us know what your thoughts are once you get around to reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll sure do, but I won’t be reading it anytime soon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

